How to Get Hired

http://leeds-faculty.colorado.edu/bhagat/How%20To%20Get%20Hired.pdf

Another good article by Ronald Alsop shows that communication, interpersonal skills, ability to work well within a team, personal ethics and integrity rank higher than analytical, problem-solving, technical skills by recruiters.

I’m not in charge of hiring at the company I currently work but I have had many opportunities to sit at interviews and ask questions.  I have noticed many individuals lack basic communication and interpersonal skills as well as the ability to work within a team even though they have been very ambitious and had good technical abilities.  We had to let many of these individuals go because of their lack of basic communication even though we were essentially hiring for a technical position.

If I were to hire an individual I would want to assure they can work well with others and I would want to assure they can admit to be wrong and they’ll be open minded to work on resolving their interpersonal issues if they may occur.

I’m not sure how much I agree with Mr. Alsop’s philosophy on showing flaws during an interview.  Some employers don’t have more than half an hour to interview their interviewees.  I’m not sure an individual can expect to get enough time and patience to show what his/her flaws are and how they have managed to overcome those flaws.

~ by aliahmadian on January 27, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
